Gratitude

Most days, 99% of the time, I’m grateful.  Consciously grateful.  Actively grateful.  I’ve learned to just be, and think of something I’m grateful for and to acknowledge it.  I just fail to say it out loud.

I’ve been doing some reading lately and also listening to some pretty good podcasts (check out http://www.slowyourhome.com or http://www.theminimalists.com both really good podcasts) because I don’t have time to read as much as I’d like to, and funnily enough, Gratitude has been popping up in those arenas too.

It appears that the message that the universe is sending me this week is “Articulate Your Gratitude Linda”.

It’s good to feel it, and good to acknowledge it.  But when you say it out loud, you’re less likely to forget it AND when it involves another person it encourages them and reminds them of their worth.  Everyone benefits from knowing that they’re appreciated.  I don’t mean superficially and I don’t mean by just good manners like saying thank you (though good manners are important too), I’m talking about knowing your worth or that what you’ve done for someone else has made a difference to their life on a much deeper level.  Cementing in their minds the knowledge that who they are or what they’ve done for you is really important to you.  You can’t put a price tag on that.

By singling out one of my sons, I’m not diminishing my love for my other children, but this week, I am particularly grateful to one of my sons.  This boy and I have been to hell and back, several times.  We have Hell Frequent Flyer miles.  If you’d asked me years ago, I would have said that maybe there’s no end in sight for our journeys to the dark places that the human condition sometimes sends us to, but I can tell you now, that the light at the end of the tunnel wasn’t an oncoming train after all.  The light was the many lessons that being his mother has taught me over the years and that when we did come out the other side, those lessons for us both, would put us in a position to not only move us forward, and make us stronger, better people, but I can say definitely in my case, put me in a position to help others in ways that I would never have been able to without having taken those journeys with him.  Others have helped along the way, but my ability to advocate for others and my empathy have their roots in being his Mum.

For that, I am very, very Grateful.

 

